top of page
Home banner new style.png

Dream Destination #1: Mexico - Dia de los Muertos


Dia de los Muertos by mapamundi.moda

I would to start sharing on this blog not only the destinations I am traveling to, but also the places that I have yet to discover and enjoy.

And since today is the Dia de los Muertos, I will start with one of my dream destinations: Mexico!


As a child growing up in France, I am familiar with the Catholic All saints day (we call it 'la Toussaint') but my memories of it are more ones of respectful and heavy atmosphere rather than a celebration of the deads, and I can only remember it at as a rainy and rather sad day.

Which is probably why the first time I heard (and saw photos) of the Mexican Dia de los Muertos, my imagination was set on fire!

Since that day, I've been fascinated with the Mexican festivals and celebrations of the Day of the Deads.



On Dia de los Muertos, the Deads are again a living part of the community, and they are celebrated with food, drinks, parties and beautiful costumes.

The most popular symbol of the Dia de los Muertos are the skulls and skeletons (Calaveras and Calacas) and you can see them dancing, playing music, drinking, enjoying life... They are everywhere during the Holidays: dolls, pastries and candies, masks and costumes...


I cannot wait for the day I will get the chance to be there and take part in the celebrations!





  • Facebook.png
  • Twitter.png
  • Google+
  • Instagram.png
  • Pinterest.png
  • YouTube

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page