top of page
Home banner new style.png

Style Inspiration #1 - Head Wraps


Today I am taking a break from showing you the wonders of Japan. I think it is about time I start sharing with you some beautiful styles and clothes of different cultures from all over the world.

Sometimes it will be a post about the history, use and meaning of certain pieces of clothing or costume like when I wrote about the Sumo traditional costume.

Some other times, I will share with you pieces of art, photographies, editorials or anything I stubble upon that inspires me.

Let's start with those exquisite head wraps and let me tell you that my heart just skipped a beat as I was discovering those gorgeous photos from AD-Russia ! The combination of prints and color is perfect and is enhanced by the beauty and glow of the model.

I particularly love how the fabrics folds of the turbans create new textures and patterns, and the dialogue that takes place between each elements of these works of art. Simply beautiful!


Wrapping a piece of fabric around the head is not specific to a cultural or ethnic group and it can be seen in many cultures done both by women and men.

However, the way the cloth is tied, if it is worn by men, women or both, the style of fabric and patterns used and its meaning will change in distinct cultures.


As westerners, the head ties that we are most familiar with are worn by women - African American and African European. The headwrap usually completely covers the hair and leaves the forehead and the neck exposed which is enhancing the facial features.


Since I was a young girl I was always fascinated by women wearing headwraps like a queen might wear a crown. I always found all the colors and the prints of the fabrics absolutely stunning and I was and still am captivated by the endless repertoire of elaborations of the turbans.


Photographer Olga Tuponogova Volkova Stylist: Natalia Obukhov Model: Keshia Asiedu


Below is a photo with my sister and a friend (I'm in the middle) when we were modeling for the graduating fashion collection of our talented friend Cynthia Adomako.

  • Facebook.png
  • Twitter.png
  • Google+
  • Instagram.png
  • Pinterest.png
  • YouTube

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page