top of page
Home banner new style.png

Vintage Kimono 着物


I was thinking to start my 'Japanese adventures' by sharing some pictures I took of this amazing country, but showing you that beautiful Kimono feels likes the right way to express how I feel about Japan.


If it is obvious that I like fashion, my real passion goes for traditional outfits and costume histories from all around the world. And this is why I knew I had to own a Kimono before I even landed in Tokyo.


I found a vintage kimono shop in Osaka just by luck while wandering in Den Den Town - the electric district of Osaka - and I just could not believe my chance: it was full of hundreds of Kimonos and Yukatas (the ones made from cotton). You can imagine my excitement! Not to mention the chance of trying them on, even some beautiful - and heavy - bridal Kimonos. I am lucky to have a husband who has the patience to let me explore this treasury shop for a while, but I could have spent the whole afternoon there!

I eventually bought 3 Kimonos that day, including the beautiful silk Kimono I am wearing on these photos.


Few days later, I found the perfect spot to picture it. We were in Takayama, in the Japanese Alps, and found there a place to sleep in a Buddhist Temple. Our room had its doors facing a beautiful inner garden, and staying in this Ryokan, a traditional japanese inn, was a magical experience.

On the last of our 3 days there, just after the Buddhist morning prayer and before a typhoon coming, we did this photoshoot in the peaceful garden.

I've decided not to wear the Kimono in a traditional way but more like how I'd wear it when back in Tel Aviv. I hope it is okay with the Japanese culture to wear it the way I do :)

  • Facebook.png
  • Twitter.png
  • Google+
  • Instagram.png
  • Pinterest.png
  • YouTube

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page